Ask Missy:Top Online Wedding Planning resources

Hello Beauties

I hope everyone is having a great summer! I am in the middle of wedding season and this is an exciting time for event planning.  I attended BizBash Ideafest 2012 at the Los Angeles Convention Center and met with the most amazing vendors in the industry.  Plus, I took the event design course and my team’s Winter Sparkle table scape was voted as first place by all the attendees!  I also recently joined the professional group ISES (International Special Events Society) which has been the best business decision.  The events are so much fun and all of the vendors I have met are amazing!

I have a new installment of Ask Missy for you today.  I utilize online resources while planning weddings so here are my top picks for inspiration!

Dear Missy,

I got engaged a few weeks ago and I want to start looking online for my wedding day inspiration.  I plan on hiring a wedding planner to keep all of the details organized and take the design to the next level but I want to bring inspiration ideas to my initial consultation.  

What are your favorite sites and resources for wedding inspiration?

Best, Engaged and Inspired

Hello Inspired!

Well, I am so happy to hear the good news and I am also so happy you realize the importance of a wedding planner!  It can be a lot of stress and pressure to keep everything organized so the wedding planner is the first vendor you should book (in my opinion, but I’m a little biased).

I am love looking through my favorites websites and blogs for wedding inspiration.  I usually look through the blogs updated daily every morning and then the websites not updated regularly once a week.

Clockwise: Style Me Pretty, Wedding Wire, Pizzazzerie, Brides, Martha Stewart Weddings, Amy Atlas’ Sweet Designs

I start out each morning checking out Style Me Pretty.  There are different sections for your specific region as well, so be sure to explore the site.  They feature photographs from weddings all over the country and they usually have a romantic, light-infused rustic vibe.  My next stop is Pizzazzerie.  Courtney Dial is an event powerhouse and her blog is filled with great ideas that can be used for any type of event.  Her sites main focus is smaller special events but her ideas can translate into a variety of wedding styles.  Then, I check out Amy Atlas’ blog Sweet Designs.  She features submissions from all over the world that provides great inspiration for display areas.

I also love Brides website.  I get the monthly magazine but the website has additional bonus content.  The inspiration stories are amazing and I love the themes they come up with each month (like this Glamorous Seaside Cannes Inspiration story).  Another one of my favorites is Martha Stewart Weddings.  They have traditional designs and recipes with a fresh twist.

Last, but definitely not least is the Wedding Wire network!  This network of sites (Brides, Martha Stewart Weddings, Project Wedding and so much more!) allows brides (and grooms) to search for vendors in their area.  You are able to check out pictures and read reviews from previous clients.  It is sort of like Yelp but for weddings!

I love gathering photos, ideas and inspiration for weddings and the related events.  I also suggest the bride and groom bring an idea book filled with magazine cutouts, photos, fabric swathes and color choices with them to our initial meeting so that I can begin to understand their vision for their wedding day.

Contact me today at MLMworldwidellc@gmail.com

to schedule your consultation!

One thought on “Ask Missy:Top Online Wedding Planning resources

Leave a Reply

