MLM Tutorial: DIY Coaster Favors

Hello Beauties

I love getting crafty especially during the holidays.  Each year for my annual girlfriend Christmas party I like to make something homemade to give to all of the girls.  This year  the gift exchange theme was “Your Favorite Cocktail Recipe”, so I decided to make each girl a set of coasters.  I made 10 coasters, my details and costs can be multiplied depending on how many you will need to make.

Step One: Pick up all of the materials needed at your local hardware store (I went to Home Depot) and your local craft store (I went to Micheal’s).  Once at the hardware store, you will need 40 basic, square tiles.  They are a standard size and will the least expensive available (about .16 each).  At the craft store you will need to choose the patterned paper for your set.  Four tiles can be cut from each piece of paper  You can have all of the coasters in the set match or use patterns in the same color family that complement each other (each paper is .20).  One large bottle of Mod Podge ($6), any variety will work, 2 small foam brushes (.75 each), 2 bags of small foam stickers ($5), and clear sealer ($7).  Plus, about 7 yards of ribbon to tie them.  I also grabbed my scissors, a pencil and some aluminum foil to do the entire project on.

The papers I selected and the other items needed

The papers I selected and the other items needed

Step 2:  Next you will need to trace and cut the paper.  I traced each tile on the back of the patterned paper.  I then cut the tiles 1/8 inch inside those lines all the way around.  It works best if the paper is just a little smaller than the tile.

I normally used each corner unless the pattern was neat closer to the center

I normally used each corner unless the pattern was neat closer to the center

Step 3: Apply Mod Podge on the surface of the tile with the foam brush.

DIY, Costers

Step 4: Place the square piece of paper on the top of the tile and smooth out the surface.  It will stick so try to get it as centered as possible the first time.

Step 5: Apply a layer of Mod Podge to the top of the paper.  Use your finger to smooth out any bubbles or creases.  Use the brush to make all of the lines go in the same direction.  Let the glue dry over night before stacking or handling.

Feel free to apply a generous coat because it will dry clear

Feel free to apply a generous coat because it will dry clear

Step 6: Spray a light coat of the sealer in a ventilated area.  I sprayed them once, waited 20 minutes, then let them dry overnight.

Step 7: Apply the foam sticks to the bottom of the tile to help protect your furniture.  I placed one in each corner and in the center.

DIY, Coaster

Step 8: Stack four of the tiles and tie with a ribbon.

DIY, Coasters

The entire project cost me $25 and I made ten sets.  I have half of the  Mod Podge and the spray sealer as well.  These would be great as favors in your wedding colors.

4 thoughts on “MLM Tutorial: DIY Coaster Favors

Leave a Reply

